Supported Through The Storm

I’ve recently had the privilege of being able to work with Wigan Council’s Million Voices youth group to create a poem promoting foster care within Wigan. The poem used the exact words and feelings of the young people, and it was a really amazing project to be a part of. You can watch my reading of the poem here or you can read the poem below (or you could do both!). I hope you enjoy!

Supported Through The Storm

There is a storm raging outside the walls
of the house you know as home. I want
to feel comfortable enough to express myself,
with someone who understands my past.
Young hearts are wandering through surging winds
while wishing for someone to take them in,
keep them from harm, and let them be them.

Could another know your house as home?
I need someone to listen to me, without judgement;
someone who is genuinely caring and nurturing.
Could you be that consistent, reassuring presence
who can let them relax and boost their confidence?
Allow me to grow but stay close as my back-up;
push me to be better with opportunities and support.

Then perhaps you could foster. I don’t want
to feel like an outsider; I want to mean something
to you. Could you treat another like part
of your family, learning more about them
as they learn from you and form a unique bond?
I might need time to settle in, but I want to be
excited to come home to you; inspired by you.

The storm continues outside–your shelter
could be crucial to another. When the winds
begin to settle, could you help a foster child
explore the world beyond your home? I’d like
someone to help me keep in contact with family,
and let me express myself honestly and openly.
Could you be a friendly face when they need you most?

Your heart—your kindness—your choice to foster
could change an appreciative young life forever.

If you enjoyed this, click here to check out some of my other books – free ebooks available as well as print books on Amazon!

(You can also tip me on my Ko-Fi page if you’d like to support a young author!)

Leave a Comment